GDM, Ubuntu 9.04, and Dvorak – input appreciated

I am having a devil of a time figuring out what’s wrong with my desktop installation of 9.04.  Ever since I upgraded, GDM no longer honors the keyboard variant I have configured.  Virtual consoles and the main X-session both use Dvorak by default, with the option of switching to standard US by pressing both shift keys.  (I posted how I did that in another post on this blog.)  The problem is that GDM ignores it and just gives me the US standard layout.  This isn’t a deal breaker, since I can use the keyboard fine this way, but it is annoying.  The most annoying part is that I can’t figure out why.

I have even gone through the configuration on my Netbook, which is Dvorak only (and works fine in GDM) to try to find the setting.  No dice.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

