Get Jaunty With It – Ubuntu 9.04 "Jaunty Jackelope" is live

The newest major release of Ubuntu, Jaunty Jackelope, went live today.

I have been running it since the Release Candidate on my desktop machine, and I have been quite pleased.  In addition to incremental improvements, there are a few new inclusions and changes.

My favorite things so far:

  • OpenOffice 3
  • New (and shiny!) notification system
  • Improved PulseAudio support
  • nVidia 180.44 drivers

There is on small caveat, though.  The newest generation of Intel video drivers have some serious performance issues.  I know that Intel is working hard on them, and new versions have been coming out pretty regularly, but I don’t think I would upgrade a computer with Intel video just yet.  A fast enough system wouldn’t be affected too badly, but older computers and netbooks should be careful, and maybe just stick with 8.10 for now.

So, what are you waiting for?  Head over to Canonical and download the latest CD, or join me in BitTorrent land.  (I seed each distribution the whole time it’s live.)

Leave a Reply

