It's been a big week in the Dragonsept household

We only had one personal system left that was running Windows.  My wife is considerably less technical than I am, and knows Windows pretty well, so she was sticking with XP.  Unfortunately, her system hard drive crashed and had to be replaced.

Windows XP’s installer is less than 100% compatible with many of today’s common hardware types, including SATA controllers with RAID capability.  Which she has.  So, there was a bit of confusion there as we got the drives sorted out.  There was also a problem where the installer could only see 128Gb of her new 500Gb drive.

Finally, I destroyed the Windows CD.  I didn’t do it on purpose, I just didn’t know it was behind me.  I stepped backwards onto it, and *snap* went the disk.  Luckily, I had an old backup I had made ages ago.

The product key we have was only good for the 2002 version of XP that comes with Service Pack 1 preinstalled.  My backup was older than that – pure XP.

Well, I know a guy who has a couple of copies, so I was sure we could borrow one of his and get her going.  Unfortunately, we’d just wasted and hour or more, and she had to leave.

Before she left, my wife turned to me and asked, “Why do I need Windows?  I have been thinking about it, and the only reason I can come up with is ‘because I know it.'”

I agreed that she could do anything she wanted with another OS, particularly since she had started to like the GIMP.  She plays a lot of World of Warcraft, but that works fine with Crossover Games, or Wine.

“Fine,” she said.  “I want you to install Ubuntu on my system.  I am tired of jumping through Microsoft’s hoops in order to use my system the way I want it.”

So, we are now a Windows-free (except for one work laptop) household!  I’m pretty excited, and I am really enjoying sharing the experience with her.

Leave a Reply

