A great (freely licensed) resource for my next non-writing project.

My next major (non-writing) project is going to be learning to bind my own journals. I have a variety of ideas how to use this, from my own personal journals, to presents for people who like that sort of thing.

The most sturdy and functional way of binding seems to be something called the Coptic stitch. Unfortunately, it is a bit confusing to describe, so I haven’t really been pleased with any of the tutorials I have found – until today.

Andrew Eason (Aesop on Flickr) created a great tutorial in comic (sequential art) format. The combination of text and pictures side by side really clears everything up. Most tutorials are either all text (horrible) or text with detached diagrams (better but still not that clear). This one is great.


(click to go to the Flickr page, complete with large sizes)

Even better, Andrew has decided to share his work with us, by licensing it under the Creative Commons.

Thanks a lot, Andrew! Now I just need to decide what kind of cover to use.

One Response to “A great (freely licensed) resource for my next non-writing project.”

  1. Jess Says:

    Hi. 🙂 I’m a random stranger from the net who wandered in from Ursula Vernon’s blog (of all places). And I notice you’re curious about one of my favourite hobbies! So my link collection, let me show you it:

    http://community.livejournal.com/handmadebooks/ is a sometimes glorious community at LJ. Recently, it’s been bookpimping and little else, but if you look in the memories, tutorials can be found.

    http://www.tjbookarts.com/otherlinks.htm A list of tutorials from around the web, compiled by a professional bookbinder.

    http://bookweb.sunpig.com/ribbons/index.htm Abi Sutherland walks through the production of three books. Not necessarily a set of tutorials, but still really grand data.

    As for a coptic stitch… yeah. I’ve never been able to make a lot of sense out of the diagrams I’ve found online, but I did find one little book that described, illustrated, and photographed the process well enough for me to grok the process: Book Arts: Beautiful Bindings for Handmade Books .

    Hope it helps a bit!


Leave a Reply

