Celtx 1.0 has gone live

I wrote the first draft of Celerity in Norcomm spiral notebooks using a variety of fountain pens. It was easy, convenient, comfortable, and I just like fountain pens. However, that’s not a very useful medium for sharing with my artist, storyboarding, or rearranging my scenes.

Enter Celtx. From their own website:

Celtx is the world’s first all-in-one media pre-production software. It has everything you need to take your story from concept to production. Celtx replaces ‘paper, pen & binder’ pre-production with a digital approach that’s more complete, simpler to work with, and easier to share.

Personally, I am using the Celtx input process as my second draft and copy-editing phase. By the time all of Celerity is safely ensconced in the program, it should be polished up enough to start on the hard work of cutting scenes, rearranging them, and laying out the pages.

Celtx has tools for all of those activities as well. With Celtx, not only can input a script, I can create character profiles, store images, make and manipulate storyboards, and attach any other kind of file I want to the project. When I started, it was “just” for movies, TV, radio, plays, and the like, but now it even has a comic script formatting option. That’s going to come in really handy when we make the transition from my script to a page layout.

Levi and I are making use of Celtx’s web services as well. The web service makes it easy for one of us to make modifications to the script or attach new files and information without a lot of sneaker-net or manual synching of data. A perfect example of this would be when I added the first scene to the script and uploaded. Levi read it, and did some preliminary drawings, attached them to the project, and uploaded it for me to retrieve. Easy as pie.

I also learned that you can run Celtx off a USB drive. It’s not advertised anywhere that I could see on their web page, but it worked just fine for me. That means I can have a portable copy of Celtx when I am away from home with a Windows machine, or stick to my native Linux version on my laptop and desktop.

I have some ideas about how Celtx would be useful for plotting a novel, but those are pretty larval right now.If anyone out there has used Celtx, or something similar, for these purposes, I would love to hear about it.

Technorati Tags:

Leave a Reply

