Today is Document Freedom Day

Today is the first Document Freedom Day.  It’s a day for grassroot initiatives and awareness of open formats.

I myself am a proponent of open formats for data storage.  I don’t have a lot invested in any particular format gaining precedence, as long as it’s truly open.  I use open document formats wherever I can.  I store all my written work in ODF, and share my work online using PDF.

If you haven’t used an open-standards compliant office tool, you owe it to yourself to check it out.  The most important thing, I think, is that it prevents you from becoming tied to particular tool or company.  You don’t have to worry about your new package being able to convert your existing documents if it implements open standards – they will just work.

Personally, I have been lobbying my state legislators to adopt an open document format for public records.  I don’t like the idea of a word processing or spreadsheet company getting the government over a barrel.

Leave a Reply

