When the creative process derails itself

I feel a bit like my creative process has derailed itself by being overactive.

  1. I have had a bit of an “a-ha” with regards to my novel, characterization, and pacing.  That’s good, but it definitely invalidates some of what I have already written.  Frankly, it just started off too slow and with a bit too much dwelling on tangential things.  This isn’t as big a deal as the other things.
  2. I have had a second revelation regarding point of view.  I think I need two narrative characters, particularly since Liz, my current undisputed protagonist, has no insight into what is happening in the spirit world while all her hairiness is happening in the mundane world.  I am thinking that I should involve someone in the midst of things in the spirit world as well.  I can’t decide between Corbin, the bearer of the other magical instrument, or possibly Nettle/Woodrose.  This will have a couple of real benefits.  One is that you can inform the reader what the spirit realm and its situation is like without a lot of long-winded exposition during Liz’s story.  Second, it gives additional plot(s) without digressing into things that are completely unrelated to the main thrust of the novel.  I was starting to worry that things were a bit too straightforward.
  3. I have really had a surfeit of inspiration and desire for working on the website.  This is not a problem in and of itself, but there are only so many hours in the day.
  4. Other stories are eating my brain.  Celerity in particular keeps interfering with me.  The hindbrain percolation has gone from simmer to rolling boil since my friend Levi said he was interested in drawing for it.  Earlier this week I started to have a few really well fleshed out ideas.  I want to work on it, and like in #3, there are only so many hours in the day.

What would you do in my position?  The real poser is what to do about #1 and #2.  I am half, maybe ¾ of the way through the first draft of the book as originally conceived.  I know big swaths of it are going to be chucked, and I may be adding an equal amount of additional material.  Would you start writing the extra stuff now?  Make a note that “started version 2 here” and go on to the end, then revise the already written stuff?  The additional viewpoint is problematical.  Part of me wants to work on it now, while another part of me worries that I am falling into the trap of never finishing.

Celerity and the website are less thorny issues.  I feel like I should work on whatever part is the most urgent, or failing that, offering me the clearest inspiration and ideas.  I am interested in how other people handle this.  Do you force one project or another onto the back burner, regardless of what’s currently eating your brain?

Leave a Reply

