John Scalzi probably knows what he's talking about.

I really enjoyed this post from John Scalzi: “Writing Tips for Non-Writers Who Don’t Want to Work at Writing.”

I also felt at least a bit like he is a kindred spirit:

2. With sentences, shorter is better than longer: If a sentence
you’re writing is longer than it would be comfortable to speak, it’s
probably too long. Cut it up. This is one I’m guilty of ignoring; I
tend to use semi-colons when I should be using periods. In fact, I’d
say the largest single editing task I have after writing a piece is to
go in and turn semi-coloned sentences into two sentences (or more, God
forgive me).

Technorati Tags: ,

Powered by ScribeFire.

Leave a Reply

