NaNoWriMo is almost certainly a “failure” this year

It’s November 25th, and I’m sitting at 19,200 words. It doesn’t take a degree in math to know that’s not nearly enough to “win” NaNoWriMo.

While I’m disappointed that things didn’t work out, I can safely say that it was never really in my hands to win or lose. I had a medical procedure (nothing big) that I expected to get me behind. But then my oldest got pneumonia, which put the rest of the family under a lot more strain. Things had to give, and totally voluntary writing contests are high on the list of things that have to shift first.

But still, I put failure in quotes for a reason. Because even if my word count won’t be hitting 50,000 this month, I have the beginnings of a good story down, and I’m much more in the habit of writing regularly than I was before the month started. So in that sense, I still benefited from participating, and that’s a win.

One Response to “NaNoWriMo is almost certainly a “failure” this year”

  1. NaNoWriMo Day 21 – Real Or Memorex? | Happy Holly Project Says:

    […] NaNoWriMo is almost certainly a “failure” this year (dragonseptarts.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 434 other followers

